How to sign in with a Google Account

Follow

Users have the ability to link their Google account with their AVOD user account. Linking accounts allows for one-click login access to the platform using the "Sign in with Google" button on all subsequent requests. This is a one time, optional feature that can be disabled at the account level within the admin portal. 

Sign in with Google is offered as a FREE service. Google Apps for Education (GAFE) is a core suite of productivity applications that Google offers to schools and educational institutions for FREE. If your school is using these applications, you will be able to use the video platform, Google Apps, and Google Classroom all seamlessly, without having to login again. 

To enable or disable the feature for your accounts, please consult the admin portal help article.

If you would like to bypass the requirement of having to link an Infobase user account to your Google account, you can check the "Enable Direct Google Login" option in the admin portal at the same time you enable this option.

Assuming this feature is enabled for your account, the below steps outline how to link your Google account to a platform account, view the status of this connection, and disconnect it if required.

 

Linking your Google account

There are two places within the platform that allow you to establish the initial link with your Google account

  1. Main Login Page
  2. Your Profile (logged in as general user or signed in to your personal user account)

 

To link your account, click on the Sign in with Google button, or toggle the option inside You Profile to ON. 

** NOTE - If you are using Chrome, and are already signed into a Google account, you will be automatically connected to that Google account once you turn on Google inside My Profile and click the Save button. For all other browsers, the below steps will be followed. 

All three options will redirect you to the same Google page shown below. 

You are required to click the Allow button for this linkage to work. If you click Deny, your Google account will not be linked and you will have to start the process over again.

After clicking allow, you will be redirected to the Login to link with Google page, as shown below. 

To continue, you must have an user account already. If you don't have an individual user account already, exist this process and login as the general user, or ask your administrator to create a personal account for you. 

If one of the following conditions are met, you will be redirected to the link account page:

You do not have a platform user account with a matching Google email address, or no user account at all.
You have more than one platform user account that contains the matching Google email address.


1a. No Matching Email:

Once you click the Link button, your accounts will be linked together, and you will be automatically logged into the platform. 

Each time you revisit the platform, you may now click the Sign in with Google button to immediately be logged into the platform. You can also login using your personal user account by entering your username and password. 


1b. Creating a New User Account:

Clicking the Create one link will redirect you to the Create Account page. 

Your name and email address will be pre-populated from your Google account. 

Complete the rest of the fields and click the Create Account button at the bottom. You will be automatically logged into the platform and each time you revisit the platform, you may now click the Sign in with Google button to immediately be logged into the platform


2. Multiple Matches:

If you know you have a valid platform user account, please contact your administrator or support for assistance in locating all of the accounts sharing your email address.


Disconnecting your Google Account:

There are two ways to disconnect your Google account:

  • From within the My Profile page.
  • From within your Google account.


1. Removing access from within My Profile:

You can remove the account linkage by disconnecting the Google sign in from within the My Profile section.

  • Login with your Infobase user account or click on the Sign in with Google button to log into the platform.
  • Sign in to your personal user account under Your Profile.
  • Click on Profile.
  • Under Connected Partner Apps you can toggle the switch to On or Off.  It should currently be set to ON if it's enabled in the admin portal.
  • Click Save Changes at the bottom of the page.
0 out of 0 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.